A Gizmo That Makes 49 Rubber Duckies Sway in Perfect Harmony

Getting people excited about motors can be a tough. Sure, there are die hard Hemi fans, but the electromechanical motors made by manufacturer Faz Elektrik do little to stir emotions, even as they power huge industrial fans. With an important trade show on the schedule, the Turkish firm knew they needed some way to showcase their relatively boring black boxes, so they turned to British artist David Cranmer for help.

He promptly suggested an unorthodox solution—a programmable matrix of 49 ducks that appear to float gracefully on invisible swells. “I was hoping they wouldn’t think it was too frivolous for a reputable industrial manufacturer,” says Cranmer, “But they went for it right away and sent me a big box of motors.”

 

dux

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/