Glowing Plant Project founder: don’t fear GM bioluminescent plants Wired UK

glowfern

European Regulations around genetically modified organisms GMOs have a very negative impact around the world, according to Antony Evans, co-founder of the Glowing Plant Project.The Glowing Plant Project uses an enzyme called luciferase — which makes fireflies and some fungi and bacteria glow — to modify the DNA sequence of a small plant called Arabidopsis. The project smashed its targets on Kickstarter, raising more than $480,000 £299,000. However, the plant has to be grown in the US due to EU regulations.Evans believes that these regulations are “all very well for politicians and activist living in Europe with good food” but that “for every action there’s the cost of inaction”, and that cost is often being borne in the developing world.

via Glowing Plant Project founder: don’t fear GM bioluminescent plants Wired UK.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/