Computers run hot so why not harness that heat to warm a building, Swiss researchers say.- swissinfo

pc

Companies often spend large sums cooling network servers, but Swiss scientists have found a way to cut those costs by using computer-generated heat to warm buildings.

Physicists at the Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH) working with IBM have created a liquid-cooled server system that can slash energy bills by as much as half while generating heat with little to no additional carbon emissions.

“Computers are an excellent source of heat that until now has been wasted,” Bruno Michel, an IBM physicist and leader of the project, told swissinfo.ch.

via Computers run hot so why not harness that heat to warm a building, Swiss researchers say.- swissinfo.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/