Work starts on Herzog & de Meuron’s Naturbad Riehen swimming pool

dave

News: construction is underway on an outdoor bathing lake in Riehen, Switzerland, by Swiss architects Herzog & de Meuron.

Naturbad Riehen will be filled with natural water without chlorine or chemical additives and is designed to accommodate 2000 bathers per day. As well as the pool for bathers, the Naturbad will incorporate a series of biological water treatment basins embedded in a sloping field on the other side of the road.

Herzog & de Meuron originally won a competition to design a municipal pool for Riehen in 1979, but the scheme was shelved in 1982. The Swiss architects were then commissioned to rethink the concept in 2007, when they abandoned the conventional swimming pool concept in favour of a facility using natural filtration.

via Work starts on Herzog & de Meuron’s Naturbad Riehen swimming pool.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/