The La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science by Lyons

This science facility in Melbourne by Australian firm Lyons has a tessellated facade based on the hexagonal geometry of a molecular structure (+ slideshow).

Located at the Bundoora campus of La Trobe University, the La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science is a six-storey building with hexagonal windows stretching across its front and rear facades.

“The cellular exterior of the building is derived from ideas about expressing the molecular research that is being undertaken within the building,” explains Lyons.

Some of the hexagons are extruded from the facade, creating a series of irregularly shaped meeting spaces, while others are simple windows shaded by overhanging canopies.

via The La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science by Lyons.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/