Kill Your Meeting Room — The Future’s in Walking and Talking | Wired Opinion | Wired.com

“Sitting has become the smoking of our generation.” I argued this in my recent talk at TED2013 and elsewhere while advocating for the concept of “walking meetings” (or as I informally call them, “walkntalks”). Simply put: We spend more time sitting (average 9.3 hours a day) than sleeping (7.7 hours) — and it doesn’t even occur to us that this is not OK. So instead of using a standing desk, doing sitting meetings over coffee, or meeting in some fluorescent-lit conference room, I do one-on-one meetings as walks. It resolves the tradeoff between “taking care of health” and “getting stuff done.”

The solution seems so obvious, yet it raises all sorts of “But…” questions: “How do you take notes?” “How do you collaborate without a whiteboard?” “What about cellphone reception?” “Can we improve mobile meeting technology?” (This last one is a panel theme at SxSW this weekend.)

via Kill Your Meeting Room — The Future’s in Walking and Talking | Wired Opinion | Wired.com.

office

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/