Richard Beckett | Architecture – Interesting projects

This year the interest of the unit lies in exploring the underlying geometries (configurations, relationships, typo-morphologies, lattices) of dwelling within our cities.  Dwelling is quintessential to human existence, and today, more than ever it is in the centre of our architectural/environmental preoccupations. In a time where the world population is rapidly growing and with the majority living in cities, the need to house the basic needs of such a large quantity of people is unprecedented. How do we dwell in our contemporary cities? What drives us more and more into them? What are the social changes that are underpinning our contemporary sense of space?  Are new technologies prompting a new paradigm of dwelling?

via Richard Beckett | Architecture.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/