The Architecture of Difference : | Form-Finding Utilizing the Social Field of Vision…

tumblr_mfeivokxIq1rrqcibo1_500Utilizing the Social Field of Vision  and the localities need for an increase of pedestrian activity affords a certain  form across the site. At 20 – 25m the field of vision reveals facial features and expressions and an individual’s feeling and mood. It is at this distances that people become truly interesting and relevant in a social context. Indicated by the intermediate circles.

At distances less than these our other human senses begin to react to the presence of others, what we hear, smell and touch will also have an effect on our desire to engage. At 2 meters people enter our personal space and it is at this distance that collaboration can take place; indicated by blue dots.

via The Architecture of Difference : | Form-Finding Utilizing the Social Field of Vision….

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/