MIT smart room detects humidity, temperature and light for your comfort (Wired UK)

Indoor spaces are getting smart; now they are embedded with sensors that monitor humidity, temperature and light. “The challenge is connecting to this nervous system,” says Joe Paradiso, director of the Responsive Environments Group at the MIT Media Lab. His solution: WristQue, a plastic wristband that gives you remote control over your surroundings (shown above, on its charging dock). The low-power, 16-bit device has buttons to control temperature and electronics, and a slider to adjust lighting. The building stores weekly usage patterns for each room; when people enter, it adjusts heat and light based on the previous week’s data. When they leave, windows are closed and air conditioning is turned off, which cut energy use by a quarter during a three-week test.

via MIT smart room detects humidity, temperature and light for your comfort (Wired UK).

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/