Space to Work: Book Review « CW

SPACE TO WORK: BOOK REVIEW

Posted by clarewashington on October 12, 2012 · 1 Comment

 

I have chosen to review ‘Space to Work’, a book written in 2006 by Jeremy Myerson and Philip Ross. The aim of the book is to establish a code of office design for the modern-day knowledge worker to increase productivity.

What is a knowledge worker?

The book starts off by defining what a ‘knowledge worker’ is; those who carry out work based not on performance, but on applying specific knowledge to a profession. Examples the book gives are doctors, lawyers and academics. This work doesn’t need a traditional office layout or design, something that many firms have failed to take note of in recent years. This is true of both the physical structure of the office layout and amenities it offers, as well as the hierarchical structure of the firm.

The four ‘realms’ of knowledge workers

The book looks at 43 separate case studies of offices, split into four realms of knowledge worker. These are the corporate realm, termed ‘Academy’, the professional realm (Guilds), the public realm (Agora) and the private realm (Lodge). These case studies give a good overview of what the book terms ‘new office design’ that could well lead to significant increases in workforce productivity. For this review I have chosen to summarise four case studies; one for each realm, to create an overview of these sections.

more via Space to Work: Book Review « MArch2.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/