Comments about robot cleaners “Roombas” from amazon.com

When my robot first arrived, I had not vacuumed for a few weeks, and within 15 minutes its bin was full and filter clogged

We’ve been using this cleaner for a few weeks now, and once you get to know it’s strengths and weaknesses, it is a very useful family addition

Has an ‘obsession’ with certain corners and areas, going over the same area maybe 10 times or more, but other areas it only does once, and sometimes not at all. … for example it obsessively tries to ‘mount’ the foot pedal on my daughter’s drum-kit (Tries for 10 minutes or more)

I love it! I’d promised myself one of these for ages but always thought ‘how extravagant is that?’

The floors look good all the time and last thing after the evening meal, it’s cleaning up again whilst I watch a bit of telly.

the robot gets confused a bit. When it beeps and shows error then simply…empty the dustbin…clean the brush…wipe the sensors and away you go….My little R2D2 likes going under the bed and the settee a lot…hates his docking station...and loves fast hard work….but I wouldn’t recommend leaving him on his own as it’s a bit like having a 6 year old with a heavy duty vacuum round the place

I would be devastated if he were taken away or if he conked out on me…and I’m so glad I decided to buy it.

Then i upgraded to the Karcher RC3000 which has served me well for 5 years but decided to throw itself down the stairs!!

The cats detest our new addition and the children love driving and emptying it. Bonus!

This machine is great. I tend to sit and watch it do all the work which means I get even less housework done.

sometimes get stuck under weird furniture but most of the time just gets on with its job.

This little robot manages to find dust, hairs and dirt even after thoroughly hovering and mopping the floors. Where he gets it from (yes it’s a he and called Marvin by my better half) is unfathomable. I am that impressed and a little skeptical that I may follow him round one day to check he’s not cheating.

had the robot for nearly 2 weeks and used every day so far…emptied him out about 6 or 7 times….absolutely amazing… have not programmed him yet and will do another update after a few months but so far delighted. cant believe how good it actually is.

But if it reverses towards the top of a staircase, then it will simply leap to its death like the apocryphal lemming. The robot doesn’t often go into reverse mode, so chances are it would be fine for several weeks in a room with unguarded downward steps… but eventually it will drive off the edge, so you cannot risk leaving it unattended around open drops

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/