Trippy Mall Pushes the Limits of What Glass Can Do

emporia

Emporia is a massive, mixed-used project that houses a three story mall, supermarket, office space, and residential units. The 2,228,130 square foot structure cost just over $390,000,000 with the hope of attracting commuters who travel through a nearby train station. Photo: Tord-Rikard SöderströmThe developers of Emporia, a new mixed-used development in Malmö, Sweden, wanted to attract commuters from the local train station to the combination mall, supermarket, office tower, and apartment building they planned to create.Realizing that a stunning design could be a way to attract pedestrians they commissioned Wingårdhs a 170 person architecture firm based in Göteborg, Sweden to use the $390,000,000 construction budget to create a landmark that would act like a beacon to pedestrians. The result is a colorful collection of interior spaces, wrapped in a sinuous, psychedelic surface that appears to be on fire when the sun strikes it right.The structure’s most distinctive features are two colorful glass-clad entrances inspired by nature—an amber colored entrance pays homage to Sweden’s trees and the semi-precious stones produced by their resin and a swirling blue entry that echoes a nearby strait. The serpentine surfaces of the building are jolting, but are also notable achievements in structural engineering.

via Trippy Mall Pushes the Limits of What Glass Can Do | Wired Design | Wired.com.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/