Anti-Gravity Object Modelling

 

MATAERIAL is a innovative project developed through collaborative research between Petr Novikov, Sasa Jokic from the Institute of Advanced Architecture of Catalonia (IACC) and Joris Laarman Studio.

The method they’ve coined as “Anti Gravity Object Modelling” is a new method of additive manufacturing that gives the flexibility to create naturally flowing 3D curves without the need for support material. Rather than the layering of 2D planes to make up the 3D object this manufacturing process follows the stress lines of the curve and hardens almost immediately from extrusion.

The really impressive part seems to be that the forms can be printed on any surface regardless of its inclination. Without further knowledge of the materials, my first thought would be that with attributes like sticking to a vertical surface and cantilevering off it as shown in the video, it must use some pretty nasty additives.  The process is impressive none the less.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/