WAM-V®: Marine Advanced Research, Inc.

wamv

wamv


Unlike conventional boats, the hulls of a WAM-V conform to the surface of the water. A WAM-V does not push, slap or pierce the waves. She utilizes flexibility to adapt her structure and shape to the water surface. Instead of forcing the water to conform to the hull, she gives and adjusts; she “dances” with the waves.

A superstructure is flexibly connected to specially designed pontoons by several components that actually move in relation to one another. A WAM-V has springs, shock absorbers and ball joints to articulate the vessel and mitigate stresses to structure, payload and crew. Two engine pods, containing the propulsion and ancillary systems, are fastened to the hulls with special hinges that keep the propellers in the water at all times. The inflatable pontoons act like the tires of a car, absorbing the high frequency waves.

via WAM-V®: Marine Advanced Research, Inc..

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/