Architecture and Photography Come Together to Make Art Within Art | Raw File | Wired.com

inside

 

Most of us experience famous architecture through photographs. We can all mentally picture buildings like the Eiffel Tower and the Sydney Opera House, even if we haven’t been there. But there’s a whole niche of architecture photography that’s more about how a building feels than how it looks.

A recent exhibit Beyond the Assignment: Defining Photographs of Architecture and Design in Los Angeles focuses on just that — a more subjective view than the expected shots of stunning edifices and stiff models.

These photographers “aim to create lasting visual impressions in an age when limitless architecture and design news can be digested and forgotten in seconds on the web,” says Bilyana Dimitrova, the show’s curator, herself a photographer and photo editor.

The show includes 10 professional architectural photographers whose work is a far cry from the “house porn” lampooned on the blog Unhappy Hipsters or the digital renderings of architecture that can intricately simulate use patterns, light movements, and seismic reactions as convincingly as if the building was part of a video game.

The photos acknowledge the emotional component of experiencing buildings and respond to it in kind. In Undine Pröhl’s photograph of a futuristic house by Charles Deaton, for example, she poses a woman on the edge of the flying-saucer balcony, framed by sky and dry mountains — translating the empowering sense a house like this grants its occupants.

via Architecture and Photography Come Together to Make Art Within Art | Raw File | Wired.com.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Our Student Blogs

Here is a list of the Blogs submitted by our students so far – check back, this post will be updated.

Molly Northover http://mollynorthover.wordpress.com/

Tom Pond http://tomgpond.tumblr.com/

Hilda Chak: http://hildachak.wordpress.com

Sebastian Pitman: http://sebastianpitman.com/blog.html

Clare Washington: http://clarewashington.wordpress.com

Kate Jones: http://katejones949.wordpress.com/

Aaron Brownsdon: http://aaronbrownsdon.wordpress.com

Josh Greig: http://studiogreig.wordpress.com/

David Jarrard: http://jarrarddave.wordpress.com/

Peter Robinson: http://rockarchitecture.wordpress.com/

Kartik Poria: http://kartikporia.wordpress.com/

Antonio Rovira: http://arovira88.wordpress.com

Tom Greenfield: http://thomasgreenfield.wordpress.com/

Ross Dannmayr: http://rdannmayr.tumblr.com/

Nigel Dakin: http://nigeldakin.blogspot.co.uk/